Skip navigation


EQC has a board of nine Commissioners. The Board is accountable to the Minister responsible for the Earthquake Commission, Hon Dr David Clark(external link).

Board meeting minutes can be found here.

Mary-Jane Daly - Board Chair

maryjane daly webBCom, MBA, GAIDC, CMinstD

Mary-Jane (‘MJ’) has a strong background in insurance, banking and finance in a variety of roles both in New Zealand and the UK. MJ has been on the EQC Board since March 2014 and was appointed Chair in 2020. She is an Independent Director of Kiwibank Limited, Kiwi Property Group Limited, Fonterra Shareholders Fund and Auckland Transport. Previous governance roles have included Cigna Life Insurance New Zealand, Onepath Life, Airways Corporation and the NZ Green Building Council. Her last corporate executive role was leading State Insurance.

Term ends: 30 June 2022

Hon Ruth Dyson - Deputy Chair

Ruth DysonQSO

Ruth Dyson has had a lengthy political career, serving as President of the NZ Labour Party from 1988 to 1992 and as a Member of Parliament from 1993 to 2020 representing the electorates of Lyttelton, Banks Peninsula and Port Hills. She was a Cabinet Minister between 1999 and 2008, serving as Minister for Social Development, ACC, Labour, Disability Issues and Senior Citizens amongst others. She has a strong public policy background and a track record of working for her constituents following the Canterbury earthquakes. She was Opposition spokesperson for Earthquake recovery, Chief Whip and Assistant Speaker prior to her retirement. Ruth joined the EQC Board in May 2021 and was appointed to the role of Deputy Chair in April 2022.

Term ends: 30 April 2023

Alastair Hercus

Alastair HercusBA (Hons), LLB, CMInstD

Alastair has been a Partner at Buddle Findlay since 1995. He brings legal and government sector experience as well as five years of Deputy Chair experience in the insurance sector, at the Medical Assurance Society. He is currently a member of the Risk & Advisory Committee at the Ministry of Business, Innovation and Employment. Mr Hercus will bring a focus on EQC’s policy, regulatory and commercial environment, including responding to the Public Inquiry, regulatory changes, and EQC's relationship with the private insurance industry.

Terms ends: 30 June 2025

Alister James

Alister JamesQSO LLB

Alister is a Christchurch barrister, with significant public sector governance experience, whose active involvement in the community and voluntary sector, was recognised by his appointment as a Companion of the Queen’s Service Order in 2004. Alister was a Christchurch City councillor for twenty years, a member and former Chair of the Canterbury District Health Board, and with previous roles as a British Honorary Consul, Deputy Chair of the State Housing Appeal Authority, Director and Chair of Christchurch City Holdings Limited, Chair of the Nga Hau e Wha Christchurch National Marae, and until recently, independent Chair of the Greater Christchurch Public Transport Joint Committee. Alister is the Chair of Southern Response Earthquake Services and joined the EQC Board in May 2021.

Term ends: 30 April 2024

Chris Black

Chris BlackCA, PGDip Accounting, BSurv, MInstD 

Chris brings more than 25 years’ governance and executive experience with a strong background in insurance, banking and investment management.  

He was previously Chief Executive of FMG (Farmers Mutual Group) from 2008 – 2021, has been the President of the Insurance Council of New Zealand (ICNZ) and served on the Board of the Insurance & Financial Services Ombudsman (IFSO) Scheme. Chris has expertise in corporate strategy, customer service, financial and risk management, and leading cultural change. Chris was appointed to the EQC Board in April 2022. 

Term ends: 31 March 2025

Emma Dobson

Emma DobsonEmma is a New Zealander who has returned after many years working at a senior level with Westpac in Australia. Her career included work on the Australian Federal Government’s Digital Business Council and the Australian Tax Office’s Digital Strategy Working Group. Ms Dobson will bring a strong focus on strategic opportunities and risks, and pursuing digital transformation to meet customer expectations. She has transferable skills and great experience in working at a high level with government and industry.

Term ends: 28 February 2023

Erica Seville

Erica SevillePhD, BE (hons), CMInstD, hon FBCI

Erica was appointed to the EQC Board on 1 July 2018 and is the Chair of the People and Culture sub-committee. She brings a strong focus on building EQC’s broader resilience as well as preparing for our role during a disaster recovery. Erica is the co-founder of Resilient Organisations, a social enterprise undertaking both public-good research and consulting to help organisations and communities to improve their resilience. Erica has a background in research, having been a Principal Investigator with QuakeCoRE and leading several major research programmes in the fields of disaster management, economic and business recovery, and the efficacy of insurance. For several years she was a member of the Resilience Expert Advisory Group, providing advice to the Australian Government on critical infrastructure resilience issues. Erica has PhD in risk management.

Terms ends: 30 June 2024

Fiona Wilson

Fiona WilsonFiona, originally from Australia, now a New Zealand citizen, has held Chief Information Officer and Chief Executive Officer roles in Australia and New Zealand. Having been Chief Information Officer for major organisations in the Australian health sector, she brings experience leading technology related changes across complex organisations to deliver benefit to diverse stakeholder groups. Fiona has also worked with a large consulting firm and led an analytics business in New Zealand. Ms Wilson offers a track record of bridging technology, data, and business needs, and building business capability to deliver in both the public and private sectors. 

Term ends: 28 February 2023

Scott Lewis

Scott Lewis BBS, FIAA, FNZSA, MInstD

Scott has had a career in insurance and actuarial work in New Zealand and overseas. He provided expertise to Lumley Insurance from 2012 to 2014 with its response to the Canterbury Earthquakes before joining IAG as Head of Insurance Risk and Reinsurance. More recently, he spent two years at Oranga Tamariki – Ministry for Children, working on a data driven approach to better understand wellbeing for the Child and Youth Wellbeing Strategy. He is a Fellow of the Institute of Actuaries of Australia and the NZ Society of Actuaries and also currently sits on the Council of the NZ Society of Actuaries.

Term ends: 28 February 2023

Jacqui Apiata

JA C Profile PhotoBPhEd, PGDip Business Management, MInstD, PMNZISM

Jacqui joins the EQC Board as a Future Director under the Institute of Directors in New Zealand’s Future Directors development programme, which is designed to identify and grow the next generation of New Zealand directors.  
Jacqui brings a functional skill set in management and operations with substantial experience across the public and private sectors, and small and large business. 
Jacqui’s extensive not for profit governance experience within industry and community includes roles with the United Fire Brigades Association (UFBA), Forest Industry Safety Council, Tai Tokerau Polynesian Canoe Association (Deputy Chair), Tai Kotuku Incorporated (Founder and Chair) and others.  

Her areas of strength lie in leadership, strategy and risk. Jacqui also has a deep-rooted understanding of He Whakaputanga (Declaration of Independence of New Zealand) and Te Tiriti o Waitangi and her most recent corporate executive role was within the leadership team of Northland Waste Ltd.