You are here


EQC has a board of six Commissioners. The Board is accountable to the Minister Responsible for the Earthquake Commission, the Hon Grant Robertson

Board meeting minutes can be found here


Mary Jane Daly

Mary-Jane Daly - Interim Chair


Mary-Jane was appointed to the EQC Board in March 2014. She was formerly Executive General Manager at State Insurance. Prior to this she was Chief Financial Officer for IAG New Zealand having joined the company in October 2006. Mary-Jane is Deputy Chair of Airways Corporation of New Zealand, a Director of Cigna Life Insurance New Zealand Limited, Auckland Transport and Kiwi Property Group Limited.
Term ends:  30 June 2022


Alison O'Connell

Dr Alison O'Connell


Dr Alison O’Connell is an actuary and research consultant.  She was founding Director of the UK’s Pensions Policy Institute and has held senior positions at Swiss Re, Mercer, and McKinsey. Alison lives in Christchurch is also a Director at the Education Benevolent Society and the Government Superannuation Fund Authority.

Terms ends: 30 June 2020

Erica Seville

Erica Seville

PhD, BE (hons)

Erica was appointed to the EQC Board on 1 July 2018.  Erica is a founder and director of Resilient Organisations, a social enterprise doing both public-good research and consulting with communities and organisations to help them improve their resilience. Erica is also a Principal Investigator with QuakeCoRE, the New Zealand Center of Research Excellence on Earthquake Resilience, and has led several major of research programmes in the fields of disaster management, economic and business recovery, and the efficacy of insurance.  She is a member of the Resilience Expert Advisory Group, providing advice to the Australian Government on critical infrastructure resilience issues.  Erica is an Adjunct Senior Fellow with University of Canterbury and she has Ph.D. in risk management.
Terms ends: 30 June 2021

Alastair Hercus

BA (Hons), LLB, CMInstD

Alastair has been a Partner at Buddle Findlay since 1995. He brings legal and government sector experience as well as five years of Deputy Chair experience in the insurance sector, at the Medical Assurance Society. He is currently a member of the Risk & Advisory Committee at the Ministry of Business, Innovation and Employment. Mr Hercus will bring a focus on EQC’s policy, regulatory and commercial environment, including responding to the Public Inquiry, regulatory changes, and EQC's relationship with the private insurance industry.

Terms ends: 30 June 2022

Photo of Emma Dobson

Emma Dobson

Emma is a New Zealander who has returned after many years working at a senior level with Westpac in Australia. Her career included work on the Australian Federal Government’s Digital Business Council and the Australian Tax Office’s Digital Strategy Working Group. Ms Dobson will bring a strong focus on strategic opportunities and risks, and pursuing digital transformation to meet customer expectations. She has transferable skills and great experience in working at a high level with government and industry.

Term ends: 28 February 2023

Fiona Wilson

Fiona, originally from Australia, now a New Zealand citizen, has held Chief Information Officer and Chief Executive Officer roles in Australia and New Zealand. Having been Chief Information Officer for major organisations in the Australian health sector, she brings experience leading technology related changes across complex organisations to deliver benefit to diverse stakeholder groups. Fiona has also worked with a large consulting firm and led an analytics business in New Zealand. Ms Wilson offers a track record of bridging technology, data, and business needs, and building business capability to deliver in both the public and private sectors. 

Term ends: 28 February 2023

Scott Lewis


Scott has had a career in insurance and actuarial work in New Zealand and overseas. He provided expertise to Lumley Insurance from 2012 to 2014 with its response to the Canterbury Earthquakes before joining IAG as Head of Insurance Risk and Reinsurance. More recently, he spent two years at Oranga Tamariki – Ministry for Children, working on a data driven approach to better understand wellbeing for the Child and Youth Wellbeing Strategy. He is a Fellow of the Institute of Actuaries of Australia and the NZ Society of Actuaries and also currently sits on the Council of the NZ Society of Actuaries.

Term ends: 28 February 2023


Page last updated: