Skip navigation

Awarding excellence in research

New Zealand-based researchers are world leaders in natural hazards research. Our Ivan Skinner and Fulbright Awards recognise exceptional research talent.

Toka Tū Ake EQC/NZSEE Ivan Skinner Award

The Toka Tū Ake EQC/NZSEE Ivan Skinner Award is an annual award worth $10,000. It aims to advance the common interest of Toka Tū Ake EQC and the New Zealand Society for Earthquake Engineering (NZSEE) in promoting research that reduces the impacts of earthquakes on New Zealand communities.

People eligible to apply are: an earthquake engineering researcher who has already demonstrated high promise with early achievements; an undergraduate student or individual holding other relevant qualifications, who shows exceptional promise in contributing to the field of earthquake engineering research; or someone employed in a role in which earthquake engineering research is relevant and undertaken.


Ken Elwood and Lucas 2023 Ivan skinner award

Toka Tū Ake EQC/NZSEE Ivan Skinner award recipients:


2023:Dr Lucas Hogan

2022: Dr Shahab Ramhormozian(external link)
2021: Dr Ashkan Hashemi
2020: Najif Ismail
2019: Kaley Crawford-Flett
2018: Richard Henry and Timothy Sullivan
2017: Dmytro Dizhur
2015: Dr Liam Wotherspoon
2014: Dr Geoffrey Rodgers
2013: Dr Alessandro Palermo
2012: Dr Brendon Bradley
2010: Dr Quincy Ma
2008: Assoc Prof Misko Cubrinovski
2007: Assoc Prof Rajesh Dhakal


About Ivan Skinner

The award commemorates Dr Ivan Skinner, who conceived the idea of ‘base isolation’ to protect buildings and bridges during earthquakes. Ivan is best remembered for his work at the Department of Scientific and Industrial Research during the 1960s. From 1994-2006, he was Toka Tū Ake EQC’s Research Director. Ivan was a Fellow of the Royal Society of New Zealand, a Fellow of NZSEE, and was awarded a Queen’s Service Medal in 1990.


Visit the NZSEE and Fulbright websites to find out about eligibility, how to apply and make an application.