You are here


EQC wants to make sure New Zealand has the researchers it needs to ensure knowledge of natural hazard risk in New Zealand continues to grow. We invest in capability building by funding university positions and with the following awards:

EQC/NZSEE Ivan Skinner Award

The EQC/NZSEE Ivan Skinner Award is an annual award worth $10,000. It aims to advance the common interest of EQC and the New Zealand Society for Earthquake Engineering (NZSEE) in promoting research that reduces the impacts of earthquakes on New Zealand communities.

The award is open to:

  • A New Zealand earthquake engineering researcher who has already demonstrated high promise with early achievements, or
  • An undergraduate student or individual holding other relevant qualifications, who shows exceptional promise in contributing to the field of earthquake engineering research, or
  • Someone employed in a role in which earthquake engineering research is relevant and undertaken.

Visit the NZSEE website to find out how to apply and application deadlines.

EQC/NZSEE Ivan Skinner award recipients

2015: Dr Liam Wotherspoon
2014: Dr Geoffrey Rodgers
2013: Dr Alessandro Palermo
2012: Dr Brendon Bradley
2010: Dr Quincy Ma
2008: Assoc Prof Misko Cubrinovski
2007: Assoc Prof Rajesh Dhakal
2006: Assoc Prof Stefano Pampanin

About Ivan Skinner

The award commemorates Dr Ivan Skinner who conceived the idea of ‘base isolation’ to protect buildings and bridges during earthquakes. Ivan is best remembered for his work at the Department of Scientific and Industrial Research during the 1960s. From 1994-2006, he was EQC’s Research Director. Ivan was a Fellow of the Royal Society of New Zealand, a Fellow of NZSEE, and he was awarded a Queen’s Service Medal in 1990.


Fulbright-EQC Graduate Award

The Fulbright-EQC Graduate Award in Natural Disaster Research recognises the achievement and potential of an outstanding New Zealand graduate student. It provides the opportunity for post-graduate study and natural disaster research at a university in the US.

One award is offered each year to a graduate who shows academic excellence, leadership potential, and the ability to be a cultural ambassador for New Zealand. The closing date for applications is 1 August.

Visit the Fulbright website to find out about eligibility, how to apply and to make an application.

Fulbright-EQC Graduate Award recipients

2018: Amanda Wallis
2016: Alex Shegay
2015: Viranchi Patel
2014: Max Ferguson
2013: William McVitty
2012: Jonathan Watkins
2008: Geoff Rogers and Aaron Wilson
2006: Clinton Mexted-Freeman
2004: Ben Mackey and Liam Wotherspoon


Alex Shegay
2016 Recipient Alex Shegay


Eureka Awards – EQC Gold Scholarship

The Eureka! Sir Paul Callaghan Awards aim to encourage and develop young leaders in science, technology, engineering and maths. A key part of the Eureka Awards is showing how your idea can benefit New Zealand’s economic, environmental and social wealth and wellbeing.

We’ve updated our criteria for the Earthquake Commission Gold Scholarship. From 2017, this scholarship will be awarded to the student whose presentation most clearly provides a creative and innovative solution to reduce risks associated with earthquakes, natural landslips, volcanic eruption, hydrothermal activity, or tsunami in New Zealand.

Visit the Eureka website to find out more about Eureka and the awards.

Earthquake Commission Gold Scholarship recipients

2016: Finn Lowndes, St Pat’s College, Wellington
2015: Andrew Tang, Scots College, Wellington


Page last updated: