EQC wants to make sure New Zealand has the researchers it needs to ensure knowledge of natural hazard risk in New Zealand continues to grow. We invest in capability building by funding university positions and with the following awards.

Icon of a graduation hat

Fulbright-EQC Graduate Award

The Fulbright-EQC Graduate Award in Natural Disaster Research recognises the achievement and potential of an outstanding New Zealand graduate student. It provides the opportunity for post-graduate study and natural disaster research at a university in the US.

More on Fulbright-EQC awards

One award is offered each year to a graduate who shows academic excellence, leadership potential, and the ability to be a cultural ambassador for New Zealand. The closing date for applications is 1 August.

Visit the Fulbright website to find out about eligibility, how to apply and to make an application.


Fulbright-EQC Graduate Award recipients

2018: Amanda Wallis
2016: Alex Shegay
2015: Viranchi Patel
2014: Max Ferguson
2013: William McVitty
2012: Jonathan Watkins
2008: Geoff Rogers and Aaron Wilson
2006: Clinton Mexted-Freeman
2004: Ben Mackey and Liam Wotherspoon


Alex Shegay
2016 Recipient Alex Shegay


Icon of a group of people

EQC/NZSEE Ivan Skinner Award

The EQC/NZSEE Ivan Skinner Award is an annual award worth $10,000. It aims to advance the common interest of EQC and the New Zealand Society for Earthquake Engineering (NZSEE) in promoting research that reduces the impacts of earthquakes on New Zealand communities.

More on the Ivan Skinner Award
  • A New Zealand earthquake engineering researcher who has already demonstrated high promise with early achievements, or
  • An undergraduate student or individual holding other relevant qualifications, who shows exceptional promise in contributing to the field of earthquake engineering research, or
  • Someone employed in a role in which earthquake engineering research is relevant and undertaken.

Visit the NZSEE website to find out how to apply and application deadlines.

EQC/NZSEE Ivan Skinner award recipients:

2019: Kaley Crawford-Flett
2018: Richard Henry and Timothy Sullivan
2017: Dmytro Dizhur
2015: Dr Liam Wotherspoon
2014: Dr Geoffrey Rodgers
2013: Dr Alessandro Palermo
2012: Dr Brendon Bradley
2010: Dr Quincy Ma
2008: Assoc Prof Misko Cubrinovski
2007: Assoc Prof Rajesh Dhakal
2006: Assoc Prof Stefano Pampanin

About Ivan Skinner

The award commemorates Dr Ivan Skinner who conceived the idea of ‘base isolation’ to protect buildings and bridges during earthquakes. Ivan is best remembered for his work at the Department of Scientific and Industrial Research during the 1960s. From 1994-2006, he was EQC’s Research Director. Ivan was a Fellow of the Royal Society of New Zealand, a Fellow of NZSEE, and he was awarded a Queen’s Service Medal in 1990.

Icon of a light bulb

Eureka Awards – EQC Scholarship and Video Award

The Eureka! Sir Paul Callaghan Awards aim to encourage and develop young leaders in science, technology, engineering and maths. A key part of the Eureka Awards is showing how your idea can benefit New Zealand’s economic, environmental and social wealth and wellbeing.

More on Eureka Awards

At EQC we want to see ideas that show innovative and creative science, technology or engineering solutions to reduce the impact of natural disaster on New Zealanders, their homes and communities. For the 2018 competition, EQC is sponsoring a scholarship and a video award.

EUREKA Awards — EQC Silver Scholarship

Tell us what will make New Zealand a better place, by sharing your science, technology, engineering or mathematics idea in a speech and student will be in the running for the Sir Paul Callaghan Eureka! Awards. Students can win $1,500 prize money for making it to the speech finals, and $10,000 if they top the speeches and win the Premier Award.

There’s also a $2,500 EQC Scholarship on offer if the speech looks at ideas that will reduce the impact of natural disasters on New Zealanders.

Students from Year 11 up are eligible and entries are open until 30 June. Students can register on the Eureka! website

EQC Video Award

Students make a video that tells a story about how a scientific or technological idea is being, or could be applied, in their community. The video can be up to five minutes in length and will put them in the running for the Eureka Science and Technology Video Awards.

If their video looks at ideas that will reduce the impact of natural disasters on New Zealanders they’ll be eligible for a half share of the $2,500 EQC Video Award – with the other share going to their school.

Students can work in groups of up to three, so it’s a great opportunity to get together and come up with some great ideas.

The EQC Video Award is open to students from years 11 to 13 and the deadline for entries is 30 September 2018. Learn more about on the Video Awards page of the Eureka website.

Previous Earthquake Commission Scholarship recipients

2016: Finn Lowndes, St Pat’s College, Wellington
2015: Andrew Tang, Scots College, Wellington


Page last updated: